About Dharwad

Dharwad district and town is located in the state of Karnataka and the administrative headquarters of Dharwad municipality along with several educational institutions and home to Karnataka University. Dharwad as a district is further sub divided into 5 talukas namely Dharwad, Hubli, Kalghatgi, Navalgund and Kundgol.

Combining the twin cities; Hubli a commercial and industrial hub and Dharwad an academic and cultural hub and the HDMC is the second largest Municipal Corporation in Karnataka after Bangalore. Administering an area of 202.3 square kilometres divided into 67 wards or blocks.

The word "Dharwad" means a place of rest in a long travel or a small habitation. For centuries, Dharwad acted as a gateway between the Malenaadu (western mountains) and the Bayalu seeme (plains) and it became a resting place for travellers. The name is derived from the Sanskrit word 'dwarawata', 'dwara' meaning "door" and 'wata' or 'wada' meaning "town". Read more

Google map of Dharwad

District Administration

Sri. Nitesh Patil
Deputy Commissioner
Phone: 0836-2233840,
Email: deo[dot]dharwad[at]gmail[dot]com

Smt. Susheela B
Chief Executive Officer, Zilla Panchayath
Email: ceo[dot]dwd[at]gmail[dot]com

Sri. Labhu Ram
Police Commissioner, Hubli Dharwad City
Phone: 0836-2233500 / 2233531
Email: compolhdc[at]gmail[dot]com

Sri. P. Krishnakant
Superintendent of Police, Dharwad (Rural)
Email: spdwd[at]ksp[dot]gov[dot]in