About District

Dharwad district and town is located in the state of Karnataka and the administrative headquarters of Dharwad municipality along with several educational institutions and home to Karnataka University. Dharwad as a district is further sub divided into 5 talukas namely Dharwad, Hubli, Kalghatgi, Navalgund and Kundgol. 

Combining the twin cities; Hubli a commercial and industrial hub and Dharwad an academic and cultural hub and the HDMC is the second largest Municipal Corporation in Karnataka after Bangalore. Administering an area of 202.3 square kilometres divided into 67 wards or blocks. 

The word “Dharwad” means a place of rest in a long travel or a small habitation. For centuries, Dharwad acted as a gateway between the Malenaadu (western mountains) and the Bayalu seeme (plains) and it became a resting place for travellers. The name is derived from the Sanskrit word ‘dwarawata’, ‘dwara’ meaning “door” and ‘wata’ or ‘wada’ meaning “town”.


Dharwad cultivates a variety of crops like Dharwad Cotton Hybrid (DCH) which was invented by University of Agricultural Sciences, Dharwad. In addition to this, Dharwad produces varieties of channa,  soya and groundnut seeds. Paddy, jowar, Alphonso mangoes and Navalur guavas are famous crops.

Industrial and business development

One of the largest automotive manufacturers, Tata Motors, has a commercial vehicle manufacturing facility at Dharwad. The unit produces small and intermediate commercial vehicles for the Indian market. The plant is on NH4, 11 km from Dharwad near Belur industrial estate, next to the high court bench of Karnataka, Dharwad.